Need Help Now!! Fondant Tearing

Decorating By mclaren Updated 5 Mar 2009 , 6:55am by mclaren

mclaren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mclaren Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 4:54am
post #1 of 7

i'm using michele foster's fondant to begin with.

i'm trying to cover a doll cake with fondant. so i roll out the fondant about 1/4" thick.

as i was lifting it up from the surface, it was tearing in my hands. it did not stick to the surface, so that wasn't the reasong it tore.
as soon as i have one side on my hand, it was already tearing!

what did i do wrong? do i need to add more PS to it? or more glycerine? (hv added them to see it that works, still having probs). or what??

how do i lift the fondant that big, from the surface without tearing it?

this is my first time working with fondant to COVER a cake, i've only done accents before this. so i'm a newbie here..

i need to finish this cake by today (now it's 1pm here in asia).

6 replies
TrinaH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TrinaH Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 5:38am
post #2 of 7

I would say that it sounds like it's too soft ... and would add even more PS but I am really not an expert

dellboi2u Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dellboi2u Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 5:47am
post #3 of 7

I never lift fondant with my hands..... anymore that is! I lay my rolling pin across the center of the piece I roll out and then fold the fondant back over my rolling pin. I then lift the fondant with the rolling pin. I use to lift with my hands which was impossible not to get tears on the larger pieces.... it's not a problem anymore when lifting with my rolling pin.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 5 Mar 2009 , 5:56am
post #4 of 7