Nervous About New Customers...

Business By trumpetmidget Updated 7 Mar 2009 , 8:08am by say_it_with_cake

trumpetmidget Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trumpetmidget Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 2:27am
post #1 of 11

I am an at-home baker, fully licensed. I have had my license for a year and a half and average about 1-2 cakes a month (though, I haven't had any yet this year...). I have a website, but it is not easily found when googled. I have done cakes for friends and friends of friends, but never for a complete stranger. This week, I have had 2 calls from people who found my site and called out of the blue. Neither of them called back after hearing the prices, but I am getting nervous. I have not made for strangers yet. How did you go from making cakes for friends to making cakes for everyone? How do you get past your nerves of talking to someone completely new? And, how do you not get offended that they don't call you back? I assume my prices were too high for them - but I will not bring my prices down. I am not hugely expensive ($3 a serving to start, $5 for a carved cake). I guess I just need my nerves settled and need to know that this is a good thing. I know it is, but...well...I guess I am just very stinking nervous that my little home business is turning into something slowly, but surely. Thanks for letting me babble!
icon_biggrin.gif

10 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 4 Mar 2009 , 2:51am
post #2 of 11

I'm assuming you got licensed because you wanted to become a business, am I right? icon_confused.gif (Otherwise wouldnt' you have just continued to do it for free as a hobby?).

And when planning to do this as a business, you didn't expect just your family and friends to be the only source of income for this business, did you? icon_confused.gif

Quote:
Quote:

How did you go from making cakes for friends to making cakes for everyone?

You make the cakes the same way, so it's a pretty easy transition. thumbs_up.gif

Quote: