Please Help A Total Newbie

Decorating By GAVINGRIFFINSMOM Updated 4 Mar 2009 , 2:57am by imakecakes

GAVINGRIFFINSMOM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GAVINGRIFFINSMOM Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 9:48pm
post #1 of 18

Hi to all you totally awesome cake people. I am so glad I found this site.I am a complete cake moron here, so hang with me. I would like to make a golf cake for my sons fourth birthday. It will be for family and friends, but I would like to to do the best job I can. My mom made all my bday cakes growing up so I would like to give it a go. I know I want the top to resemble a green with some simple lettering. My question is concerning icing as this will be an outdoors party in Florida in early May. I read that buttercream would not be best if outdoors? I am too new to even think about fondant or anything else so elaborate. Also, I will most likely be using boxed cake mix and from what I haveread it looks like I shoul make the icing myself. I have done some reading about crumbing the cake first and refrigerating it both before and after. Again, I have never done anything like this so any tips, help or advice would be so wonderful.
Abby

17 replies
janelwaters Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janelwaters Posted 3 Mar 2009 , 9:59pm
post #2 of 18

Where in Florida are you??

I would suggest doing a White Almond Sour Cream cake (WASC) - awesome! And definately make Indydebi's buttercream recipe - It is fine for outside and it tastes really good too! You can find both recipes in the recipe section.

Level your cakes after they have cooled, you can fill them with buttercream and crumb coat it and let it set up - you can refrigerate it, but you don't have to, just make sure that your crumb coat is smooth. Indy's buttercream will crust in about 15 - 20 mins. so you can put a second layer of icing on.