Just Looking For Some Direction

Business By jwhite0826 Updated 3 Mar 2009 , 4:25am by jwhite0826

jwhite0826 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jwhite0826 Posted 2 Mar 2009 , 11:56pm
post #1 of 15

so recently, i've been reading the forums looking for any and all information regarding a home based bakery businesses. I've seen everything about being licensed and what you should and should not do. Well perhaps my situation is a bit different? I'm just looking for opinions as to where i should start.

Currently, I am a supervisor and head cook at a local highschool cafeteria (full time). Then i work a few hours (part time) at a bakery at night. I'm educated/experienced in cake decorating and baking and all that other fun stuff. So, ultimately i'd like to open my own bakery. But i'm not too into baking. I prefer decorating/designing cakes. I've been considering decorating cakes for the local highschool students (since my town is so small and everyone knows everyone) for graduation, birthdays, etc. Also, i'd like to provide cakes for small businesses in the area as well..all for a profit.

My questions are as follows:

- would i need to be licensed to decorate and sell cakes to the students/clients, from my home? There would be NO traffic coming into or out of my apartment. There would be NO deliveries made here.

- am i allowed to hand out flyers at the school advertising my services..or would i have to be licensed for that as well?

also, like i said, i prefer decorating over baking so i already know i can buy from wholesale uniced cakes and decorate them myself. Is there a problem in this, considering it is not my own personally baked cake?

I guess i'm looking for some sort of direction. I basically want to just create an order form, create a few flyers and hand them out to the kids at school, and decorate the cakes as they desire and deliver them to where ever they are needed. all while making a profit.