Not Enough Cake To Go Around...

Decorating By nicole77494 Updated 27 Feb 2009 , 6:43pm by Tita9499

nicole77494 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nicole77494 Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 2:29am
post #1 of 10

I have been making cakes for about two years now, and I am finally comfortable enough to start selling them. This cake that I did for tonight is suppose to be for 40 people. Instead of a full sheet cake, I made just a half sheet cake. When I brought the cake to the customer, there were about 50 people there. There was DEFINATELY not enough cake to go around. I feel horrible, and it is definately a lesson learned. I unfortunatly cannot stop beating myself up about it, and I am not sure of the best way to rectify the mishap with my customer. The cake was for one of the local high school golf teams, and there is ALOT of potential business. Any suggestion or words of wisdom (encouragement)??? icon_sad.gificon_sad.gificon_sad.gif

9 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 2:37am
post #2 of 10

How big was your sheet cake?? My 9x13 feeds 25...11x15 feeds 45 and the 12x18 feeds 55..Was it a donation or a paid cake? I would have asked how many people were expected..if the customer told you 40 and 50 showed up...that is not your problem...If she told you 40 and you didn't bring a cake to feed 40 then ultimately it looks bad on you..I'm not sure what you can do now except offer to do another cake in the future for a really discounted price but I don't know what to say...if there isn't enough cake people will talk and it doesn't look good on the decorater especially if you were the one who decided to bring a smaller cake than requested.Hope everything works out!

armywifebryan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
armywifebryan Posted 27 Feb 2009 , 3:13am
post #3 of 10