I Want It Sparkly!

Decorating By ThreeDGirlie Updated 26 Feb 2009 , 4:55pm by emrldsky

ThreeDGirlie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ThreeDGirlie Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 3:03pm
post #1 of 6

One of my very best friends is turning 60 this year - not until August, so there's plenty of planning time.

The best way to describe her is "over the top". She often wears sparkly tiaras and feather boas just because. She changes wigs to suit her mood - she doesn't need to wear wigs, she just likes to change it up! Her personality is just so big and wonderful. And she LOVES her birthday. She is planning a huge blowout with at least 100 people. She wants to have 2 cakes - both made by me. The first one I'm good with...

The other one, she just said "I want it sparkly". The party theme is basically Pajamas and Diamonds...

So I need help with an over the top, funky, spunky, sparkly cake to try to match her personality! I am a relative beginner, only been decorating for a little over 6 months. But I have plenty of time to order supplies and PRACTICE to pull this off. I just want to make something special for a very special person.

Ideas, pictures, etc would be great!

5 replies
Confectioners_Conundrum Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Confectioners_Conundrum Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 3:40pm
post #2 of 6

Get some shimmer dust, or luster dust! It comes in a bunch of different colors and you just brush it or sprinkle it on to the cake fondant or frosting. It sort of disovles on the frosting and makes it really sparkle! As for the cake design, I would definatly try to tie in that whole tiara and feather boa thing! how cute!

KASCARLETT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KASCARLETT Posted 26 Feb 2009 , 4:08pm
post #3 of 6

I did a search in the gallery for FEATHER and these cakes came up! They are great and I'm sure you could find some fun cakes there!

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&meta=search&type=full&search=FEATHER

Atomikjen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile