I Don't Like Fondant...

Decorating By ajarvis Updated 25 Feb 2009 , 7:45pm by chrissypie

ajarvis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ajarvis Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 4:59pm
post #1 of 26

Is there anything other than fondant that I can use to make beautiful cakes like those on here? I really don't like the taste of fondant, and what's the point of making a cake if you don't even want to eat some? I'm just starting out with cake decorating, and have only done a few character cakes, but I would really like to try to branch out and try some ideas that I've seen here, but it seems like fondant is the most common way to get that smoothe look and make the cute characters and such. I've heard of gum paste- is that kind of along the same lines as fondant? Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

25 replies
tx_cupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tx_cupcake Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 5:03pm
post #2 of 26

First and foremost, what kind of fondant have you tasted?

cashley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cashley Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 5:04pm
post #3 of 26

Gumpaste is used to make flowers and characters and is really not considered edible although you can eat it, it becomes rock hard. Have you tried the MMF fondant. I haven't had anyone that didn't like it.

angel951747 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
angel951747 Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 5:15pm
post #4 of 26

My father doesn't ike fondant ither and I have tried numerous recipes. I stuck with Michelle Foster's fondant. I like it the best. Marshmallow fondant is ok, but I still prefer Michelle's. It has a more subtle taste and doesn't make you feel like you are eating a ball of sugar. Otherwise, you would neet to perfect your buttercream applcation so that the cake looks like it would if it were covered with fondant. Also could try marzipan (is that how you spell it?).

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 25 Feb 2009 , 5:23pm
post #5 of 26