Help On A Fbct?

Decorating By cakeslady Updated 21 Feb 2009 , 6:34pm by tracey1970

cakeslady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeslady Posted 20 Feb 2009 , 8:12pm
post #1 of 9

I understand that you are always working on the back side of the transfer,but when it says to smooth it...I'm a little confused.
You decorate the whole transfer,then you just add extra icing? And smooth that?and when you smooth,it doesn't mess up the colors on the transfer? Thanks..and sorry,I'm very new at this!

8 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 20 Feb 2009 , 10:54pm
post #2 of 9

Once you have all the colors down, smooth a thin layer of plain bc over the pattern. I stick mine in the freezer while I'm coloring. So, first I do the outline then stick in the freezer for a few minutes. Then I pipe in some colors. If I have any colors that go ontop of colors already piped in, I put it in the freezer for a few minutes before I add the next color. I freeze the whole thing for a few minutes before the final layer of plain bc is put on and smoothed. To make all this in and out easier, I put the design on a cookie sheet/jelly roll pan and leave it on there until I'm ready to transfer to the cake. The metal pan helps keep the icing already on the pattern cold and firm as well. The reason you need to smooth some plain bc on to the back of the pattern is that you need it to be flat when you put it on the cake. If it is not flat it might crack.

tracey1970 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracey1970 Posted 21 Feb 2009 , 2:35am
post #3 of 9

I do the same. Also, I do all my fbcts on a piece of plexiglass and using a piece of acetate paper (i.e. overhead projector paper). That way, I can see right through the plexiglass. That helps me smooth the fbct on both sides. In other words, you can periodically lift up the plexiglass and look under it to see how the "right" side of the fbct will look on the cake before you have to put it on there.