Stress???

Decorating By sarand Updated 19 Feb 2009 , 9:13pm by j-pal

sarand Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarand Posted 19 Feb 2009 , 6:55pm
post #1 of 7

Hi All,

I am fairly new to cake decorating and just make cakes for friends and family, which consists of the odd birthday cake here and there. I work full time and have a fairly stressful job, I find that doing cakes is very theraputic and something that I can really enjoy and get a lot of pleasure out of... it has took a while but I seem to have found my creative side at the age of 40... lol So I joined my local college to learn more and i am so addicted...

However there is more to this post... I am now getting asked to make wedding cakes... and cakes for people who are friends of friends that I dont know and am finding that I am worrying about the cake weeks before I have done it... Panicing incase it all goes wrong... and a wedding cake OMG i could even imagine what I would do if that went wrong...

My question is: is this normal? Did you all worry and do you all still worry.

I dont want to lose the fun side of cake decorating?

what are your thoughts/tips?

Thanks for reading my long post and look forward to reading your replies

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

6 replies
Suewillo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Suewillo Posted 19 Feb 2009 , 7:12pm
post #2 of 7

I have been doing cakes now for almost 2 years and I do worry some about some cakes but I find as my skill gets better the less I worry because I feel I know more about what I am doing and what I can do.
To make it easier for you why don't you do a dummy cake for the wedding cake and take a pic of it. Have them show you a picture of what they are thinking of for a cake. That will give you an idea of what they want. Post it here and show it to the ones that want you to do the wedding cake for. This will give you the idea of what you can do and how much time it will take plus it's good practice.