How Should I Handle This?

Business By LisaMaeCakes Updated 18 Feb 2009 , 2:29am by LisaMaeCakes

LisaMaeCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LisaMaeCakes Posted 18 Feb 2009 , 1:52am
post #1 of 7

To start, I'm fairly new in the business.

I received a call from an event planner that I have worked w/once before. She's a real professional and does events all over Georgia. She recommended me to a bride recently. Apparently this bride wants something "not the normal/traditional". This bride lives 2 hours away. The event planner is meeting w/her Tuesday and wants me to go to the meeting also. I do want to tap into this market if I can, but I did express my concern that it's basically an all day thing by the time I make the travel, take tasting cakes, etc. The planner said she understood, but that this girl was originally considering only one bakery until she was told to go to my website and likes my style. The planner told her that I like new fresh ideas, artsey stuff. Anyway, the planner thinks it would be very beneficial for me to talk w/this girl and her mom. My question, should I just do it and hope to goodness she books me or do I say that I will go, but it will be $XX (feel free to fill in the amount if you think this is the way to go) but it will be deducted if she books me.

Thx
Lisa
PS, I am a legal business, but do everything by appt so I don't have to "close up shop" if I do this

6 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 18 Feb 2009 , 1:56am
post #2 of 7

With the information provided, I would say, yes ... go, and consider it an investment in your biz. Can you ride with the planner? At least you wouldn't be out the cost of gas.

Oh .... any idea how large this wedding may be? A wedding for 300 .... no question about going. Jumping thru these hoops for 50 or 75? Ummmmmmmm .... not sure.

LisaMaeCakes Posted 18 Feb 2009 , 2:04am
post #3 of 7

Hi Debbie!!!!! I was soooo hoping I'd hear from you. tee hee