Black Bleeding Into White Chocolate, Help!

Sugar Work By chilz822 Updated 22 Mar 2009 , 1:56am by kellycat102938

chilz822 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chilz822 Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 3:24am
post #1 of 6

Hello all,
This is my first time posting in this area, I'm reaching out for help! icon_smile.gif

I'm in the middle of creating the pieces for an upcoming Alice in Wonderland cake. The bottles, mushrooms, pocketwatch, etc, I've made from fondant/paste and candy molds. They're great. I'm completely stuck on the playing cards. I have a simple card mold, has the suit symbol in the middle and the corresponding J,Q,K,A in the corners. I molded them out of fondant but they look 'pained' (which they were!). Sooo I melted some choc bark, colored it black with candy colors and attempted the spade.
Problem #1 - I can't seem to get the choc in the lettered section (Ace of Spades) without getting it into the section that should be white and contaminating it with the black.
Problem #2 - When I got the black spade symbol filled and dried, poured the white on top, the black bled.

It's a simple basic playing card, should I really be having this much trouble with it??

Shew! Help! Any suggestions? What am I doing wrong?

5 replies
kakedecorator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakedecorator Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 7:50pm
post #2 of 6

I don't have an answer for you but I can tell you what I did when I needed to make playing cards. I made the card shapes out of fondant/gum paste (50/50) then had some edible images made of the cards I wanted to use and placed them on the "fondant cards" by brushing a little clear piping gel on them and them placing the edible image on top.

chilz822 Posted 8 Feb 2009 , 10:36pm
post #3 of 6

Oh now there's something I never though of! Where did you get the images made? Did you just take in the image of a regular playing card? I've never tried edible images before and have no idea!

icon_smile.gif

kakedecorator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile