Edible Paint On Fodant..help!

Decorating By stresseddesserts Updated 3 Feb 2009 , 12:39am by stresseddesserts

stresseddesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stresseddesserts Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 11:35pm
post #1 of 10

icon_smile.gif Hi all!
I'm new to cakecentral.com and I luv it here and your amazing cakes, ideas and recipes!

I have just one problem... I want to paint on fondant but don't know what to use so Fondant won't crack. I've used food color gels with lemon extract... the color never dries and comes off. PLEASE share any tips.

Edible paint recipe? icon_biggrin.gif

thanks,
Jane

9 replies
something_sweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
something_sweet Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 11:40pm
post #2 of 10

I have not tried it personally but I have heard many people recommend air brushing paints.

mabryant0212 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mabryant0212 Posted 2 Feb 2009 , 11:53pm
post #3 of 10

airbrush color works best... I find the gell never dries also.

stresseddesserts Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 12:11am
post #4 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetestthing

I have not tried it personally but I have heard many people recommend air brushing paints.

Okay, I thought I was the only one... I will def try that!
Thanks for the fast reply..

buffim Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
buffim Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 12:12am
post #5 of 10

when I have painted I use the luster/petal dusts mixed with clear alcohol or if I am only doing a little (and don't have alcohol) I use a bit of almond extract. I haven't mixed with proper colours before though.

If you use alcohol it evaporates so the colour dries quickly.

FeGe_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FeGe_Cakes Posted 3 Feb 2009 , 12:17am
post #6 of 10

In my pics, I painted white fondant a dark navy blue for my blue jean cakes. I used wilton gel color and vodka. I was at a cake shop and the owner said..ever clear is better because it drys faster.