Cake Dummie Sizes

Decorating By Becscakes Updated 31 Jan 2009 , 11:47pm by weirkd

Becscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Becscakes Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 9:31pm
post #1 of 10

Hi everyone, just a quick question...
Im looking at buying a set of cake dummies, but im not sure what sizes i should get. i was thinking a set of 3 but not sure if i need 6", 8" & 10" or maybe bigger ones...

9 replies
weirkd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weirkd Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 9:43pm
post #2 of 10

If you want to go with a standard looking cake then do a 14, a 10 and then a 6. You want them to be proportional. If you did a 6 and 8 their too close in size. My opinion!

jdconcc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jdconcc Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 9:43pm
post #3 of 10

Hiya

I'm no expert but they are the sizes I've got and they work ok, I've got a round set, the only thing is they do seem a bit on the small size overall so if you're really going for wow factor maybe go a bit bigger on all of them.

I've also got petal shaped ones and I would avoid those like the plague just been covering some today and it was horrendous, because they are so light and so fiddly it was a nightmare, or maybe it's just me, but I can cover a petal cake no bother at all.

Sorry that probably wasn't that much help. hope somebody else has something to say on the matter icon_smile.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 10:05pm
post #4 of 10

If you only want to buy 3, the 6/8/10 makes a cute little display cake (this pic is a 6/8/10 dummy: http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=439463 )

If you want them available so you can show a bride "here's the size of your cake...", then I'd recommend getting a 6/8/10/12/14 so you can mix'n match.

It never fails .... no matter what I order, I always run out of the size I need for the next dummy cake! icon_eek.gif

Becscakes Posted 31 Jan 2009 , 10:28pm
post #5 of 10