Steps To Decorating - Newbie Question

Decorating By cakecrazy09 Updated 30 Jan 2009 , 5:54am by cakecrazy09

cakecrazy09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakecrazy09 Posted 29 Jan 2009 , 5:35pm
post #1 of 10

I'm new at decorating and have read hundreds of posts to figure out the steps of decorating cakes. I work full time so I have to decorate in steps over several days. I think I have a plan but want your opinions. TIA

Step 1. Bake, freeze in seran wrap and freezer bag for 24 hours.
Step 2. Thaw 30 mins. Then fill and stack refridgerate for 30 mins.( to prevent buldge).
Step 3. Crumb coat. Refridgerate for 30 mins (same day decorate) or freeze (next day decorate). Use seran wrap and freezer bag for freezing.
Step 4. Thaw 30 mins. Frost cake and refridgerate 30 mins
Step 5. Smooth and refridgerate 30 mins
Step 6. Stack using dowels. Refidgerate for 30 mins
Step 7. Decorate!

Did I mention I'm a freak about process? I seem to always break down my project into steps. Helps me keep from forgetting steps or getting ahead of myself. So What do you think?

9 replies
Rose_N_Crantz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rose_N_Crantz Posted 29 Jan 2009 , 5:48pm
post #2 of 10