A Little Irked...

Decorating By cvoges Updated 20 Jan 2009 , 7:35pm by Ayanami

cvoges Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cvoges Posted 17 Jan 2009 , 7:09pm
post #1 of 79

Though I've been a lifelong hobbyist-baker, I started decorating cakes a little over a year ago as a means of dealing with stress. There are times when I bake and decorate just to be doing it. During those times, I happily share with co-workers, neighbors, and family, and I'm always the one who brings the cake to any occasion. I've donated the occasional cake for a school function, and I've made a wedding cake for a friend. On both occasions, I had plenty of notice, and the receiving parties were very gracious and appreciative. Generally, I've had very positive experiences.

Now here comes the part that pisses me off: Back in December, one of my daughter's coaches called and asked me if I could pull off a January wedding cake. She said she figured that I could save everyone a ton of money, I guess because she figures my time is worth so little. I shot her a price of $2.50 a serving for a simply decorated buttercream wedding cake. I considered the price to be more than fair, considering the time factor, as well as the supplies involved. She acted shocked, and I heard nothing else from her about it. I have to assume that they chose to purchase their cake at Sam's.

Then, last Wednesday, a co-worker e-mailed me and asked me to "donate" a full sheet cake for a Friday evening event for a group of students. This lady knows that this was the week that grades were due (I teach) and that we've all been covered up this week. Besides that, what makes people think that I can just whip out a sheet cake (something I really hate messing with, anyway) like it's nothing? I ended up talking to the person in charge of the event, who understood that if I'd been asked last week, I could have worked it in.

That's it. Just griping. Thanks for listening.

78 replies
Melvira Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile