Cake Decorating Supply Business

Business By aliciahere Updated 7 Jan 2009 , 9:36pm by aliciahere

aliciahere Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aliciahere Posted 5 Jan 2009 , 5:37pm
post #1 of 10

Hello! I am a newbie here, and I'm looking to startup an internet Cake Decorating Supply Business - catering to Canadian Customers more specificaly (since it is tough to find a lot of these things in Canada). We are starting out small, and I was wondering if I could get some suggestions on some hard to find items that you wish your suppliers would have. We will have some basics, but a person can typicaly get basics anywhere.

I have to admit - I'm not into cake decorating, but my mil is, and she has found it very hard to find certain items (petal/luster dust, silicon moulds) in Canada, so we are working with her to develop this business.

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated, thank you guys so much!

9 replies
aliciahere Posted 5 Jan 2009 , 10:09pm
post #2 of 10

Sorry about the multiple posts there everybody. I was having issues with the site, and hit refresh a few to many times. I have deleted the multiple entries.

-Tubbs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-Tubbs Posted 6 Jan 2009 , 4:27am
post #3 of 10

Yes please!!!

Not so much of the Wilton though. I'm sure you know Golda would be your main competitor, so look for things which they may not carry.

Large bottles of Americolor would be good - the tiny ones don't last long enough.

When I wanted to order cookie sticks in bulk, I had to get them through Country Kitchen and ended up paying a fortune in brokerage fees.

Icing sheets? Again, have to order direct from Kopycake.

I'll let you know if I think of anything else...

aliciahere Posted 6 Jan 2009 , 9:45pm
post #4 of 10

Thank you for your post! Yeah, Wiltons is everywhere, so I don't think we will carry their products. I've been reviewing the Golda site, but it's tought to determine what they don't carry by doing that icon_smile.gif