Gumpaste Cracking?

Decorating By k33bl3r Updated 31 Dec 2008 , 5:46pm by k33bl3r

k33bl3r Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
k33bl3r Posted 31 Dec 2008 , 5:27am
post #1 of 6

So, I'm new to cake decorating, and have never worked with gum paste before, but have found that I prefer that taste to fondant. And I watched one of Lorraine's videos on how to make an elephant, and I actually pulled it off. Who knew? lol. But now I have a problem. The gum paste is cracking as it's drying. I'm using the Wilton's ready-to-use gum paste that comes in the re-sealable bag, and I also used some Wilton's black coloring to make my elephant grey (which I had a hard time getting the color all the way through as well.)

But does anyone know what I did wrong? How can I make the gum paste not crack when it dries?

5 replies
icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 31 Dec 2008 , 5:46am
post #2 of 6