Vegetable Oil Vs Butter For Cake Mix

Decorating By vita752001 Updated 30 Dec 2008 , 1:36am by steplite

vita752001 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vita752001 Posted 26 Dec 2008 , 4:08am
post #1 of 12

Hello there,
I just wondering if the cake mix will taste better if I use butter instead of vegetable oil for all cake flavors. But I've seen a lot of doctored cake mix use only vegetable oil. Does pudding really important to be added? I feel like the cake's moist enough already. I usually bake from scratch so I am pretty new with the box. I just want to try since baking from the box soo much easier.

11 replies
sweetisome Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetisome Posted 26 Dec 2008 , 4:23am
post #2 of 12

I use oil in my mixes, but I also add milk or even light cream instead of water, and I always put in pudding. the extra fat helps with texture and moistness. While a box cake with oil, water and no pudding can indeed be a tasty thing, a few little touches help make it more individualized. People rave about my cakes, and I NEVER bake from scratch. As to the butter, I have tried it in my mixes and personally I've never had anything but trouble. HTH. Good luck and feel free to ask any questions.

yvette131 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yvette131 Posted 26 Dec 2008 , 4:24am
post #3 of 12

i bake from box mix all the time, to me they both come out the same, i prefer to use oil because it's less expensive. i also doctor my cakes and add pudding plus the extra egg. i love the vanilla taste it gives it and the extra egg makes it more dense, which is good for larger or carved cakes.

lolobell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lolobell Posted 26 Dec 2008 , 4:36am
post #4 of 12

so many of you say you add pudding to a cake mix...how much pudding are you talking about for a typical 3 layer box mix?

lolobell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lolobell Posted 26 Dec 2008 , 4:37am
post #5 of 12

oops, meant to say 2 layer not 3!