Non-Payment Of Wedding Cake-Just Need To Vent!

Decorating By cookieswithdots Updated 20 Nov 2008 , 2:17am by dldbrou

cookieswithdots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookieswithdots Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 7:53pm
post #1 of 11

I've been doing cookies for several years and ventured out to do a few cakes here and there. I was asked in Sept. to do a wedding cake, this would be my first. The gal that ask is a friend and she ordered it for her niece. We talked several times and agreed on a price, $325.00. It was Satin Ice, 14, 10 and 6 layers. Not much detailing and since it was my first and she was also a friend, I felt this was fair.

OK-so a week goes by and she e-mails me and we make arrangements for her to come by and pay and also return my cake support system. She never shows up, happens once again after that. She finally e-mails me again and I can practically see her tears on my computer. She explains that she screwed up her finances and feels really bad. She can't pay me at this time, but agrees that she will "get it together" and pay me.

I'm really stuck-as she is really a very sweet gal and I know she is being honest. But at the same time, I'm mad. I worked so very hard on this cake and I wish she would just make an attempt to contact me.

So-- a little advice-friend or no friend-depost from now on. Pls don't slam me, I should have known better. I just finished two small cakes and several cookie orders and when I asked for a deposit, hey-- no problem at all.

Thanks for listening!
Melissa

10 replies
kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 8:05pm
post #2 of 11

No slamming here, hon. I'm sorry your "friend" (and I use this term loosely) has treated you this way. As for her "tears" and how she feels so bad - I'm sure YOU are feeling worse about this now than SHE does.