Newbie Here...i Need A Recipe And Tips To Make Fondant Easy

Decorating By darenda Updated 31 Oct 2008 , 6:52pm by Daisys_Cakes

darenda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darenda Posted 30 Oct 2008 , 6:19pm
post #1 of 6

I'm new around here and new to cake decorating. I'm currently taking a cake decorating class and am so excited! I've never used fondant but the cakes I've seen with it are so beautiful I want to give it a try this weekend. I need an easy recipe and any tips or tricks you might want to share with meicon_smile.gif

5 replies
DnEKakez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DnEKakez Posted 30 Oct 2008 , 6:41pm
post #2 of 6

Welcome! Try using the MMF it's super easy to make and easy to work with...

This will give u a step by step guide on how to make it HTH

http://www.cakecentral.com/article47-how-to-make-and-decorate.html

Ayanami Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ayanami Posted 30 Oct 2008 , 7:47pm
post #3 of 6

I use this very simple, very economical, very tasty recipe.

http://www.wilton.com/forums/messageview.cfm?catid=7&threadid=77236&FTVAR_MSGDBTABLE=

Remember to keep your work surface caoted with powdered sugar & your hands coated with shorteneing & keep the MMF covered when not in use to help slow the drying process.

HTH!

alcotth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alcotth Posted 30 Oct 2008 , 8:52pm
post #4 of 6

You will love the fondant! I use my stand mixer to combine the marshmallows and powdered sugar, works MIRACLES! Just coat EVERYTHING that you use in shortening. I don't put flavoring in mine and people have told me it's the best fondant they have ever tasted, so use your judgment on that one.

A tip that has helped me IMMENSLY... after you have rolled the fondant and place it over your cake, rub the top gently and then attach the top edges and work your way down. Youtube has a couple good videos, just type in covering a cake with fondant.

Good luck! Don't get discouraged too easily either!