Fondant??

Decorating By lindseyR Updated 25 Oct 2008 , 8:44pm by JenniferMI

lindseyR Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lindseyR Posted 25 Oct 2008 , 1:30am
post #1 of 5

I am just starting out decorating cakes. I am wondering what most people are using for fondant, do you make your own or do you buy? I have used the wilton brand but it is really disgusting in taste so i hate to work with it. i have made my own recipe that i found on the web but its kinda flimsy. Any suggestions out there?
Also how do you get all the icing sugar or conrstarch off the fondant once it is on the cake?

4 replies
PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 25 Oct 2008 , 3:27am
post #2 of 5

I use satin ice. I love the way it handles and it tastes great. I roll with cornstarch. but I use a VERY light dusting... VERY light. There really isn't any excess left on the cake once I smooth the fondant with my hand... if there is I just dry brush it off. I also airbrush my cakes with a pearl or similar finish and that helps to finish off and little bits that might be left, especially on dark colors. Some people roll with shortening rather than PS or CS.

xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 25 Oct 2008 , 4:14am
post #3 of 5

PinkZiab has given you great info! thumbs_up.gif

I don't think there are many folks who like Wilton's fondant (I've only ever met one person who liked the taste of it) but I think it's okay to use for accents that are not going to be eaten as it is not as expensive as some premade fondants especially when you can use Michael's coupons.
There are several different premade brands of fondants that people here like but it is definitely a personal preference. If you don't mind making your own there is currently a discussion going on about 2 of the recipes that can be found here on CC, here's the link:

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-607591.html

cakebaker1978 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile