Help... My First Wedding Cake!!!

Decorating By odm_post Updated 24 Oct 2008 , 4:23pm by odm_post

odm_post Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
odm_post Posted 23 Oct 2008 , 10:27am
post #1 of 6

Hi....

I've only done birthday cakes so far, and now someone ordered a wedding cake. I'm really flattered by this.... so I want to do it right....

First of all.... it's not a big party, there'll only be about 60 guests. And the bride wants a very simple heart shape cake.

So what I have in mind is: making a heart shape using 12" round pan and 12" square pan... actually that'll feed 80+.... but it's always more than less, or I can always carve it smaller if I think it's too huge.
As for the topping, the bride isn't very particular but she wants something red, like strawberries, so I 'm thinking about filling it up with red roses.

Now the questions icon_razz.gif
1. Should I make the roses from BC or RI? I'm not very good with fondant, so I leave out that option icon_razz.gif
2. How may days in advance should I start making the roses? I know there are a lot of experts here.... can anybody tell me more or less how many I'm looking at?
3. Should I just stick with all red roses, or add some leaves?
4. If the bride doesn't want a cake topper, don't you think it looks a bit plain - just a heart shape cake with a bunch of roses?
5. What kind of border at the bottom should I use? Ruffle? Rossette? Beads?

Anybody can suggest more ideas on how to make this look more like a wedding cake? In my mind they're either stacked or tiered, so when it's just one layer, it's a bit errr..... But this is what the bride wants....

Oh... this cake is for Mid of November.

Thank you very much in advance.....

5 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 23 Oct 2008 , 1:28pm
post #2 of 6