I Have A Stupid Question About Fondant.

Decorating By cut-n-up Updated 21 Oct 2008 , 11:29am by Susie53

cut-n-up Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cut-n-up Posted 19 Oct 2008 , 5:40pm
post #1 of 17

icon_redface.gif I know this is going to be a stupid question so nobody tell anyone okay. tapedshut.gificon_lol.gif I am new to cake decorating. I have made 5 cakes and 4 of them 3-D. I am having the same problem everytime when we are getting ready to eat them. It seems like people are afraid of the fondant. Either they don't think it is edible or they peel it off or just don't want to mess with it. Is there something I missing? Is there a technique to eating fondant covered cakes? If most people don't eat it what do I do about frosting. I have been filling my cakes but is this the answer? I made a dump truck cake and it looked great but when we got ready to eat it everyone stayed away from the black fondant and it took no time til it just looked bad. Please advise me anyone. I don't know how to tell my backwoods country people how to eat fondant. Because I don't know myself. I don't want them just to look good I want them to be eaten and enjoyed. They are not supposed to be a puzzle. Remember not to tell anybody. tapedshut.gif Ha. ha.icon_redface.gif

16 replies
mixinvixen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mixinvixen Posted 19 Oct 2008 , 5:46pm
post #2 of 17

depends on which recipe for fondant you're using.

wilton= don't blame them for peeling it off, isn't fit for a dog to eat, i would do the same!

mmf (any version)= yummy,easy to make, can add all kinds of flavorings in to taste even better...what i use

store bought fondant= expensive, but have had some that tasted really good.

make sure to only cover your cakes 1/4" or less with fondant. keep in mind that you still have to ice under the fondant, in order for it to adhere to the cake...this provides icing for the people who insiste on peeling the fondant off...the best of both worlds!