Jewelry Themed Cake/cupcakes Need Help

Decorating By sugarwishes Updated 19 Oct 2008 , 7:40am by sugarwishes

sugarwishes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarwishes Posted 18 Oct 2008 , 3:06pm
post #1 of 7

The office I work for is hosting a jewelry party, where we get a bunch of girls together and we will buy there gold from them. So I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to possibly get some clients, since I'm just starting out.

My boss wants cupcakes, but I want to do a cake. So I think I will do a lil bit of both. I just have no idea where to begin as far as a design. I tried to find candy molds like rings or some sort of jewelry and they dont make anything like that. I guess I can make jewelry out of fondant but I'm not really sure about the cupcakes.

Anybody have any idea what I can do?? The party is Nov. 4 so at least I have a little bit of time.

6 replies
Baking_Booth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Baking_Booth Posted 18 Oct 2008 , 11:45pm
post #2 of 7

It would be neat if you could make a cake like a treasure chest that opens up (like in the gallery) but make it a jewelry box and put a couple of cupcakes with "jewels" inside and put the rest next to it so that it goes together. You might try those edible pearls/beads or use luster dust to give it a shine.
Hope this makes sense... lol... when I read your post that's the first thing that popped into my head and I'm not sure if it came out right! icon_confused.gif

cupcakeco Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakeco Posted 19 Oct 2008 , 1:56am
post #3 of 7

How about a dressmaker's bodice-shaped cake layered with tons of different-length/color pearl strands? I think it would be simpler to excecute but make a much bigger statement. And statement=customers! icon_smile.gif

Win Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Win Posted 19 Oct 2008 , 2:09am
post #4 of 7