Made Michelle Fosters Fondant And Had To Add Alot More Sugar

Decorating By grossoutqueen Updated 22 Sep 2008 , 8:13pm by weirkd

grossoutqueen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grossoutqueen Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 7:37pm
post #1 of 10

I made my first batch of fondant last week and it was Michelle Fosters recipe that I got from CC.

Well it turned out yummy but I wound up having to add 2 or 3 MORE boxes (lbs) of conf. sugar than it called for. It was sooo sticky that I couldn't even knead it without adding all that extra sugar. Has this happened to anyone else with this recipe or any other?

My other question is, if the fondant has the amount of sugar the recipe calls for and it is still sticky (really sticky) if I let it sit overnight, wrapped up, will that help? I am new at fondant....
Thanks guys!

9 replies
Sugarflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarflowers Posted 21 Sep 2008 , 9:39pm
post #2 of 10

Sorry that you had problems. There are several things that could have caused you to need to add so much extra powdered sugar. It should not be sticky when you wrap it. It will be too soft to use and you will have to knead in more powdered sugar to use it. Then it will be much harder to do.

One of the things that could be problem is high humidity. This is only a small part of the problem. The amount of liquid used is very important. Even the smallest amount can make a difference in how much powdered sugar is added. It doesn't take much liquid to make any powdered sugar icing too soft.

The temperature of the liquid could possibly be a problem, too. If it was still very warm or hot, then it will take more powdered sugar to work. This will backfire in the end. By the time is comes to room temperature, then it will probably be much too stiff to knead. This can only be fixed by kneading in fresh fondant. It's not a fun or easy job, but it one way to not have to waste the ingredients.