Fondant On 1St Birthday Cake?

Decorating By MichaelaRod Updated 16 Sep 2008 , 5:54pm by jenniefah

MichaelaRod Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MichaelaRod Posted 15 Sep 2008 , 9:30pm
post #1 of 8

How do you all feel about making a fondant cake for a 1st birthday? Doesn't that kinda take the fun out of the messiness and smashing into the cake? I have a cake I want to make for my son's 1st birthday but it would only look good in fondant and I don't want to ruin the fun just to make it look good.... what do you think?

I want to make Curious George lying on top of a banana....

7 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 15 Sep 2008 , 9:39pm
post #2 of 8

My son will be 1 in about 2 weeks and I was planning on making a fondant cake for him. I never thought about the messiness...etc. All I thought is... I want his cake to look great! (I'm not very good with buttercream). Maybe you could make a fondant cake for everyone to look at...and then make a smaller cake for him to sit on or play with, etc. Hope this helps!

MichelleM77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MichelleM77 Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 12:57am
post #3 of 8

I'm doing a first birthday cake in a few weeks. Main cake will be fondant. Smash cake will be all buttercream (maybe some fondant decorations). Gotta let them get their hands in there and make a mess! I don't think you want them doing that to the main cake though.

PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 2:35am
post #4 of 8

make him a small buttercream smash cake to go to town with!

sarahpierce Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahpierce Posted 16 Sep 2008 , 11:51am
post #5 of 8