Do You Get Invited To The Reception?

Business By smab109 Updated 29 Sep 2008 , 12:14am by Jenn123

smab109 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smab109 Posted 10 Sep 2008 , 6:17pm
post #1 of 9

I am new at all this.. I had my first official wedding consult today and they are going with me, woohoo! But they invited me to the reception, which just struck me as odd.

If you are invited to stay, eat and have a few drinks, it isn't rude to decline is it?

8 replies
chutzpah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chutzpah Posted 10 Sep 2008 , 6:36pm
post #2 of 9

I think that's really odd. I mean, you don't even know each other!

smab109 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smab109 Posted 10 Sep 2008 , 6:38pm
post #3 of 9

That's what I thought....both the bride and I recognized each other, but we have no clue where we have met in the past. It was all her fiance, who I know I've never met before.

sugarchicone Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarchicone Posted 10 Sep 2008 , 9:02pm
post #4 of 9

I too have had this happen to me. I took a wedding cake order from this young couple who I had never seen before and I knew for sure had never met. They where from another state but getting married about 20 minutes from me. I was floored when I recieved an official invitation to thier wedding. I had to call my daughter and ask her what I should do. I thought being she is younger maybe this was a new trend. I could not go anyway because I had 2 other wedding cakes I had to do that day also.
I sent back a decline. Is this something new? Does anyone have an answer for this? Thanks.

MikeRowesHunny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MikeRowesHunny Posted 10 Sep 2008 , 9:12pm
post #5 of 9