Did Anyone Catch Good Morning America This Morning?

Decorating By misserica Updated 31 Aug 2008 , 5:02am by StephW

misserica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
misserica Posted 31 Aug 2008 , 12:52am
post #1 of 14

This morning on Good Morning America (ABC) they did a segment on money saving tips for couples getting married. One of their budget friendly tips was to order a dummy cake and serve sheet cake. The girl doing the interview thought this was the new it thing to do. From reading the posts on here (as I am a newbie and have never ever done anything close to a wedding), all of you well versed cakers say you charge roughly the same or darn close to the same price for a dummy and sheet cake set up as you would for an actual cake. Is it me or were they sending the wrong message this morning. There are going to be a ton of unhappy bride-to-be's at their bakeries wondering why they cant have a dummy and sheet cake for peanuts. Sorry it just bugged me because I know that it takes the same amount of time to decorate Styrofoam as it does an actual cake. Just babbling...

13 replies
Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 31 Aug 2008 , 1:06am
post #2 of 14

I think I heard before that some places actually rent out dummy cakes...like they can use the same cake for several weddings...so it would just be a rental fee. Actually I think maybe a year ago there was a big discussion on CC about that.

AZCakeGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCakeGirl Posted 31 Aug 2008 , 1:10am
post #3 of 14

Yep...I was actually looking at a few different websites last night. There are places where you can order dummy cakes that are already made. Apparently they ship them to you & when you send them back after the wedding, you get your deposit money back. It's not something I would do, but I guess it is an alternative for some people.

lilahcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilahcakes Posted 31 Aug 2008 , 1:11am
post #4 of 14