Tips For A Newbie

Decorating By Rose_N_Crantz Updated 20 Aug 2008 , 4:56pm by PinkZiab

Rose_N_Crantz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rose_N_Crantz Posted 20 Aug 2008 , 1:30am
post #1 of 7

So I'm a newbie decorator and I just did a two layer Curious George cake for my nephew's second birthday. The cake was a HIT and everyone loved it. Another person at the party was my husband's great aunt Dorothy. She's turning 92 in September and I guess there's going to be a party for her. If they don't throw her a party for turning 92, I will!!!!

So anyways, she really liked my cake and wants me to do her birthday cake. I'm feeling adventurous and would like to do a pillow cake. I'm thinking instead of a tiara though, I'm going to put a shoe on top. Not because her name is Dorothy, but because she really likes shoes. She's always commenting on my shoes and once used an old pair of hers for a table centerpiece! It looked really cool!

So my question is this, does anyone have any advice for me??? This would be my first time with carving cake and fondant. I'm thinking about just getting some precolored/prerolled stuff to help me out, seeing as how it's my first time working with it. And since I'm looking for the precolored stuff, does the lavender fondant fade just like lavender frosting does? If it does, I think I might just go with pink or something. I work at a Sam's Club right now, should I take advantage of that and buy up some cakes and frosting, or does anyone have any easy, good recipes? I live in an apartment that has a TEENY kitchen. I'm not kidding, this thing is looks like it should be in a dollhouse.

So please, all you artists out there, bestow your knowledge and experience on me!!!!!

6 replies
xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 20 Aug 2008 , 2:46am
post #2 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rose_N_Crantz