Chef Coat

Decorating By mixinvixen Updated 13 Aug 2008 , 5:14am by PinkZiab

mixinvixen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mixinvixen Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 10:18pm
post #1 of 12

hello all...i'm really interested in getting your opinions and ideas on something that has bugged me for quite some time now.

i really want a coat of some kind to wear on deliveries and such, embroidered with my name and company. i've looked several times at the coats in gfs and online, with the different colors and such...i've even considered making my own. from what i understand, it's impolite to wear a chefs jacket if you haven't been to culinary school...kinda like wearing a doctors coat.

is there an alternative that anyone of y'all wear?

starla

11 replies
mkolmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkolmar Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 10:49pm
post #2 of 12

Well I can tell you that I graduated from culinary school and you do not have to go to school to be considered a chef. (yes, some people think you do though.) I graduated with honors and still have a hard time being called Chef. I know I have not earned that title yet and won't for years to come through back breaking long hours of work. However, some of the best chefs I've learned from have never been to school and I proudly call them chef.
There has been a few threads on this topic.

A chefs coat is actually meant to protect the body while cooking. It is double sided so if you get splattered with food in the front you can easily switch sides and be presentable to meet guests at a table if they care to meet you.
A white chefs coat is a sign of cleanliness and being presentable. However, the colored chef coats are really starting to catch on (especially pink for women and black for men.) I have 8 jackets which are all white. Some are cheaper made ones and some are a higher quality. I prefer culinaryclassics to buy from. Crookedbrook has jackets also, but are more pricey and are basically a show piece and not to wear in a kitchen.