Doll Cake Questions - Dowels? Filling? Help Please!

Decorating By Littlepinksocks Updated 20 Aug 2008 , 11:41pm by MeMo07

Littlepinksocks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Littlepinksocks Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 7:24pm
post #1 of 24

Hi, I'm a newbie for sure, and doing my first doll cake (cinderella, of course!) ...it's also my first cake for someone other than family.

I have the wonder mold pan. Instead of using a doll pick, I'm using a cinderella barbie. Of course this means I need another layer of cake because barbie is too tall for the wonder mold. So, I have the molded cake plus the extra round for the bottom.

I am planning to make her dress out of fondant.

Questions:
- do you usually split and fill your doll cakes?
- I'm concerned about the weight of the fondant and all the cake squishing the bottom layer. Do you usually dowel doll cakes?

Anything else I should be thinking about? Cake is due on Tuesday. I plan on not getting much sleep Monday night. icon_rolleyes.gif

Thanks for any wisdom you can share. I love cake central... been a lurker for a verrry loooong time!

23 replies
FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 9 Aug 2008 , 8:47pm
post #2 of 24

When I make doll cakes I use two 8" tiers that are stacked on top of eachother with dowels and carve it.

You can fill your wonder mold you just have to torte it which can be a bit of a pain, but it can be done. You can also remove the barbie's legs and cover the stumps in plastic wrap and just insert the torso into the cake.. that way you don't have to worry about it not being tall enough for the barbie. Then just pop the legs back on when you are done.

lilyanddayne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilyanddayne Posted 10 Aug 2008 , 1:28am
post #3 of 24