Newbie Here... Just Want To Say Hello!

Decorating By saramachen Updated 19 Aug 2008 , 4:10pm by xstitcher

saramachen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saramachen Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 8:45pm
post #1 of 18

Hi Everyone. I have been lurking around here for several weeks now... I finally started posting a little this week. I just wanted to introduce myself and say hello. My name is Sara and I am in Kitchener Ontario Canada. I am a accountant by day and a wannabe caker by night icon_biggrin.gif . I am very new to cake decorating... I've only done 3 cakes. I am taking the wilton courses and love them.

My favourite part of cake decorating for me is allowing the creative side of brain to roam free. After punching #'s all day, I can come home and mess around in icing... and if I screw it up - I can just eat it and start again. Its almost therapy.

I plan on taking some professional courses next year - but im not sure if I want to do cakes proffessionaly or not. I really like my job and not sure if I will ever be good enough to do it full time, but im really willing to practise.

I got a great idea from someone else on this site who picked out some favourites on here to make. So I just finished picking out 12 favourites and I plan on making one a month.

This weekend I plan on making my first batch of MMF. Im taking the wilton fondant and gumpaste course and we are covering our cake board. I did one in class, but I want to do a fancy one and not use the wilton fondant.

Anyway - Thanks in advance for your help and support. I look forward to hanging out with you all. icon_cool.gif

17 replies
LeckieAnne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LeckieAnne Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 8:56pm
post #2 of 18

Welcome! Good luck on those 12 - be sure to post them!

SugarMama602 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarMama602 Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 11:36pm
post #3 of 18

Welcome!

tracycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracycakes Posted 7 Aug 2008 , 11:38pm
post #4 of 18