No News Is Good News...

Business By mgdsue02 Updated 29 Jul 2008 , 11:30pm by isabelianico

mgdsue02 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mgdsue02 Posted 29 Jul 2008 , 6:27pm
post #1 of 9

Maybe I worry too much, but how many of you don't hear back from customers regarding whether or not they liked your cake? I have done 5 different birthday and anniversary cakes in the last month, and not one of them has contacted me to say the cake was good, bad or indifferent! My Mom always says no news is good news but it would be nice to hear that so and so liked the cake. I guess I should just leave well enough alone and not worry. If I don't hear something then I should assume they liked the cake. If they didn't I guess they would call me and tell me. I am just getting started with my business and would love the feedback. Oh well...

8 replies
Deana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deana Posted 29 Jul 2008 , 6:43pm
post #2 of 9

There are lots of posts regarding this very issue... very rarely will you get any feedback.. as several people have pointed out - you wouldn't call the pizzas place, or your nail salon, or the car oil changers after the fact to tell them you really enjoyed, appreciated their service. Nope - you only say something when things didn't go well.. so absolutely no news is good news!!

MosMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MosMom Posted 29 Jul 2008 , 7:21pm
post #3 of 9

There are many times I don't hear from someone about how they liked it until they call to order another cake and then it becomes obvious they liked it. :]

I like a glowing review but no news is most definitely good news.

littlecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlecake Posted 29 Jul 2008 , 7:25pm
post #4 of 9

i do a lot of cakes....only have had a handful of phone calls telling me how much they liked it....and a few thank you notes.

however, many times they give me a nice review the next times they come in.

poshcakedesigns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile