Choc Chip Cookie Test On Abc Tv

Baking By veejaytx Updated 31 Jul 2008 , 4:27pm by Jasmine33

veejaytx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
veejaytx Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 10:05am
post #1 of 12

Not being a cookie baker I was wondering if you all who do bake them would agree with the "test" they showed on ABC this morning.

They had chocolate chip cookie dough, baked one batch right away, another they refrigerated overnight (or a day) and a third batch they refrigerated for a couple of days and then baked.

The concensus was that the older dough cookies were preferred over the other two.

Any thoughts?

11 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 10:41am
post #2 of 12

LOL...dough doesn't last more than an hour or two in my fridge, I don't think we could test it here icon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gif

veejaytx Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 10:52am
post #3 of 12

I hear that, Texas_Rose, actually if I had any it wouldn't last around here either!

Omicake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Omicake Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 10:56am
post #4 of 12

Don't know for sure. Maybe the ingredients had more time to blend together.Did the recipe used was given?Was there any other conclusion , apart of preference for the older one?

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 11:29am
post #5 of 12

I have girls come in twice a week to make cookie dough balls. We stock 'em up in the freezer. Some we put in the 'frig if the freezer starts to get too full.

I have noticed that the from-freezer-to-oven dough balls bake up prettier than the from-mixer-bowl-to-oven ones. More uniform in shape and color. Not sure about the taste tho ..... when you bake 300 a day, every single day, you just aren't interested in eating one anymore! icon_eek.gif

veejaytx Posted 24 Jul 2008 , 11:49am
post #6 of 12

I don't think they said there was any special recipe used, but all the cookies they tested were evidently the same recipe.