About To Make A Cake!

Decorating By kay7 Updated 9 Aug 2008 , 3:40am by kay7

kay7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kay7 Posted 20 Jul 2008 , 10:31pm
post #1 of 22

I am a very amateur pastry chef. As in, it's what I want to do when I graduate but I don't know like anything about it. Sometime this week I am making the practice cake for my sisters birthday that's in a couple weeks. I'm super excited because I don't get to do this a lot. Any advice, because I've only made two other big cakes, and they were less then perfect. Any tricks of the trade?

21 replies
TooMuchCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TooMuchCake Posted 20 Jul 2008 , 10:45pm
post #2 of 22

What did you have in mind for your sister's cake? If you give us some idea where you want to go with it, we can help you more specifically.

Deanna

kay7 Posted 20 Jul 2008 , 11:31pm
post #3 of 22

Okay, it's going to be a single, square cake. I want to cover it in royal blue fondant and make it look like a gift box and put white fondant strips for the ribbon, with a bow on top.

TooMuchCake Posted 20 Jul 2008 , 11:41pm
post #4 of 22

Thanks, that gives me something to go on. Have you done fondant before? Jumping right in with a square cake in fondant is a little gutsy if it's your first go-round, but you can do it. Smooth the corners first, then the sides. Make the bow ahead of time to give it plenty of time to dry, and you might want to make either an extra complete bow, or at least extra bow loops just in case. There is an excellent tutorial on here about making a loopy bow.

Did that help any? If you have specific questions, feel free to ask them!

Deanna

kay7 Posted 20 Jul 2008 , 11:46pm
post #5 of 22

Ya i saw the example on how to make the bow, it's what made me want to do it. And I've used sugar paste before, but not totally successfully. I thought a square would be easier than a circle cake. (I don't have too many pans, so it's either square, circle, or rectangle)