How To Do A Dummie Cake?

Decorating By mashmellow Updated 17 Jul 2008 , 4:42pm by missmeg

mashmellow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mashmellow Posted 16 Jul 2008 , 1:31am
post #1 of 16

Hi can someone tell me if there is a tutorial on how to make a dummie cake, I am new at cake decorating, just finich my silton curses and would like to practice, My family doesen`t want more cake, and I can`t eat them for medical reasons. I want to take pictures , and keep them for reference. I will appreciate your help. icon_sad.gif

15 replies
Tona Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tona Posted 16 Jul 2008 , 2:19am
post #2 of 16

Go to Global Sugar Art.com and order the size cake dummy you want to do. If you are covering it in Fondant you can put a thin layer of piping gel on the dummy to assist the fondant in sticking. I use royal icing to glue the dummy to the cake board then decorate as you would a normal cake

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 16 Jul 2008 , 3:26am
post #3 of 16

A list mist of water on the dummy will also adhere the fondant.

beagledog100 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beagledog100 Posted 16 Jul 2008 , 5:24pm
post #4 of 16

You guys are awesome! I was just going to post this exact question as I want to practice my skills, but my waistline can't handle me eating more cake.

When you use the dummy is it a problem to keep scraping the old icing off? Does it get all gummed up?

scnix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scnix Posted 16 Jul 2008 , 5:43pm
post #5 of 16

Also you need to bevil the edges or roll them to soften them up. The fondant can tear a little if the edges are too hard.

mashmellow Posted 17 Jul 2008 , 2:10am
post #6 of 16

Thank for your help, another question. How long can I keep te dummy cake ? do I need to use a diffrent kind of BC or I just use the same recepie. I use willton`s , Just one more, i stack the same and do evrything like in a nomal cake right?

tomatoqeen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile