New To The Cakey Life...stuck On Icing Idea.

Decorating By lanakb Updated 30 Jun 2008 , 3:12am by lanakb

lanakb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lanakb Posted 24 Jun 2008 , 3:19pm
post #1 of 8

I'm doing a chocolate cake with whipped white choc ganache (recipe from site) as the filling and I will also be doing chocolate transfers. But i am stuck as to what I should ice the outside of the cake with. Whipped ganache maybe..I'm not sure.

I am extremely new to cake making, infact this will be my first real go at doing a nice cake. I have made cakes before but never put any effort into decorating but since this is my daughters first b'day I would like to go that one step further and make something that looks good.

I will be making a smaller smash cake aswell - which I got the idea from this site. thumbs_up.gif But I will not put filling in.

Any ideas anyone has or even to point me in the right direction in terms of what I'll be making would be fantastic. Hubby has already told me that after visiting this site I will start making cakes for the neighbourhood...haha
Oh well gotta have a hobby right. icon_biggrin.gif

7 replies
tastyart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tastyart Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 2:26am
post #2 of 8

Your hubby is probably right! I started making cakes 7 years ago for my kids. I have a wedding cake due in July. It really is addictive. Have you checked out the gallery yet? There are so many great ideas there. Your cake sounds wonderful allready. You could frost it with the gnache or buttercream. Good luck, I know it will be great!

lanakb Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 4:13am
post #3 of 8

I have not yet had a really good look at the gallery, I know if I do I'll get completely hooked! icon_lol.gif

Hubby has asked to help with baking the cake and since he makes a great sponge I think we have changed to that. So now we are having a sponge with some yummy filling (stuck on that one) and I'm thinking I'll just go with the buttercream.