Cake Flavors?

Decorating By mlharvell Updated 23 Jun 2008 , 3:17pm by atschnet

mlharvell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mlharvell Posted 22 Jun 2008 , 5:38pm
post #1 of 7

I'm fairly new to caking and I've been asked to do a wedding cake for a friend. I pretty much have license to do whatever I want. It's going to be three tiers. I'd like to have different flavor combinations on each tier. I haven't really deviated from white cake and chocolate cake, so I'm at a loss of what to do as far as flavors/combinations. Can anyone give me some suggestions/recipes for what works well together? I would really appreciate it!

6 replies
MacsMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MacsMom Posted 22 Jun 2008 , 9:54pm
post #2 of 7

Red Velvet seems to be popular these days.

Lemon

Mocha

Kahlua

Amaretto

Tropical

Cinnamon

Peanut Butter

Banana

Strawberry

gottabakenow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gottabakenow Posted 22 Jun 2008 , 10:00pm
post #3 of 7

a few more suggestions...

raspberry swirl
marble
orange swirl (like creamsicle)
really any 2 flavors that would taste good together you can swirl! (yes im a marble fanatic)

you can swirl together banana and strawberry, lemon and raspberry, chocolate and peanut butter... anything that sounds good!

post pics! icon_smile.gif

CulinaryActor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CulinaryActor Posted 22 Jun 2008 , 10:11pm
post #4 of 7

For a Wedding I would Use:

Classic White Cake
French Vanilla
Red Velvet
German Chocolate
Something Special and Out of The Ordinary!

Another cool thing to do is get one of those cake pans that have a heart shaped filling that would be amazing! I know Wilton has those not sure where else

Good Luck! thumbs_up.gif
Sounds Like Fun! icon_biggrin.gif

-The Culinary Actor

Malakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Malakin Posted 22 Jun 2008 , 10:18pm
post #5 of 7