Cake Stand Question Re: Sizes Of Tiers

Decorating By ANicole Updated 19 Jun 2008 , 4:28am by mindywith3boys

ANicole Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ANicole Posted 18 Jun 2008 , 10:01pm
post #1 of 7

Hi there!

I have a customer who is using her own cake stand (which I haven't seen yet) to display 12", 10" & 8" cakes. I should've asked her, but didn't, and actually, I don't want to sound dumb to her - so I thought I'd ask you guys this question... (by the way, it's her wedding cakes)...

Do I need to put the cakes on the same size board as the cake stand, so instead of doing what I usually do and going a few inches bigger for the cake board, do I get a 12 for a 12" cake, etc.?

Or should I just ask her?

Sorry - I've never used a cake stand before (I'm new at this still!).

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Amber

6 replies
mindywith3boys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mindywith3boys Posted 18 Jun 2008 , 11:51pm
post #2 of 7

I would first find out the diameter of the cake stand. If it is only 12 inches, I think the cake will hang over. Once a 12 in cake is iced, I think it will be slightly larger than 12 inches. So, it's only going to look right if the stand is 14 or bigger.
I would put the cake on a foam board the same size as the cake and Ice out past the board so that you don't see any board at all. But, that's JMO. icon_wink.gif

ANicole Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 12:19am
post #3 of 7

That's what I was thinking. I just wanted to make sure I wasn't about to ask her a really "obvious" and dumb question.

I need to figure out the diameter. I'm guessing it's more than likely a little more than 12" to allow for the border, but what if it's a 12" exactly, then it would be better suited for a 10" cake, right?

mindywith3boys Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 1:57am
post #4 of 7