First Wedding Cake,need Help![Long!]

Decorating By wildflower Updated 18 Jun 2008 , 7:02pm by wildflower

wildflower Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wildflower Posted 17 Jun 2008 , 10:09pm
post #1 of 7

ok so i was approached by the cuzin of a freind who asked me to make her wedding cake for this august,she sent me a picture of what she has in mind and it seems fairly simple and she was really nice about everything...however since its my first time i need some advice from pros such as urselves so here goes:
she told me that she wants one three tired cake[stacked],one two layered stacked and one single one and she wasnt to set them up on the table in a way that they look liek a staircase winding down....although i have never stacked cakes before i really want to do this just because i love decorating and this seems fun and a lil challenging so any and all advice is welcome
also she wants me to bring the cakes and set them up at the hall which is at least an hour away from where i live....so my question in regard to that is would it be ok if i iced the cakes and then jus set up the flowers once i got there?she wants roses and lilies cascading down the side of the cake so how would i make sure they stuck?the cake is going to be iced in buttercream...flowrs probaly fondant and royal icing[does that work togther?]
also she didnt specify what size of cakes she wants in the three tiers and left it up to me,so would 6 inch 8 inch and ten inch rounds work stacked?or is it better to do 6 9 and 12?
most important....m scared to overcharge so what would u guys consider a decent price for all thse cakes plus transport and set up?m going to try attaching a pic of the cake she sent me so u can get an idea of the design shes looking at
thanks sooo much

6 replies
LeanneW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LeanneW Posted 17 Jun 2008 , 10:55pm
post #2 of 7

Hmmm, I am kind of confused. Does she mean three tiers on pedistals to look like a stair case like this?