Attention All You Castle Cake Makers...

Decorating By lovetofrost Updated 24 Aug 2008 , 4:34pm by frankandcathy

lovetofrost Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lovetofrost Posted 12 Jun 2008 , 4:28am
post #1 of 9

I am making a castle cake this weekend for a 4 yr old birthday purple and pink with flower/ivy on the side. I need some help with the column thingys on the sides and the top of the cake. I am making a 12" round bottom with a 8" square dummy on the top. or possibly a 10" round bottom and a 6" square dummy on the top. Anyways, she wants to pick it up saturday morning. I just would like some advice on how to keep the columns sturdy for her transportation. Also any suggestions on what to use for them? Thanks soooo much. I'm very nervous as this is my first attempt.

8 replies
2muchsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2muchsugar Posted 12 Jun 2008 , 5:21am
post #2 of 9

I'm working on some right now! I'm using gumpaste around pvc pipe and letting it dry overnight. The insides would be hollow, so you could use skewers against the sides to stabilize.

Good luck! Let us know what you decide to do icon_wink.gif

eneq Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eneq Posted 12 Jun 2008 , 5:32am
post #3 of 9

i know some people use the paper towel cardboard rolls covered with fondant or gumpaste for the turrets. if you want the fastest way...just buy the wilton castle kit. those can be secured using candy melts or dowels. if u have the 40% off coupon at hobbylobby or michaels it would only be 13 dollars or so. bad thing about that would be you'd have to get the pieces back, unless of course u just wanted to give it away. icon_smile.gif

hmschlmom5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hmschlmom5 Posted 12 Jun 2008 , 5:43am
post #4 of 9

I just finished making this cake today!!!! Here is part of my post I posted under a thread about this kit. I had NO problems at all and NOTHING BUDGED!!

This is a copy of my post today. Thank you. You can go to