Taste Or Appearance

Decorating By Gatorfan01 Updated 5 Jun 2008 , 7:53pm by fondantgrl

Gatorfan01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gatorfan01 Posted 4 Jun 2008 , 12:49am
post #1 of 29

Which is most important to you, the taste of your cakes or their appearance?

I am a darn good baker and my cakes have won awards at our state fair. I enjoy baking and am just learning to decorate my cakes. I think I suck at decorating! icon_cry.gif

I did a wedding cake for a friend this past weekend. It was my first wedding cake and I just couldn't come up with how to decorate it. (Surprise for the bride) Finally I just did buttercream icing with a pink ribbon around each tier. I piped stars at the bottom of the tiers. (I haven't quite got the hang of the shell border yet). When I was finishing it up Sunday morning I smooshed the top tier and messed the smooth icing up. I was able to fix it but I just wasn't happy with the overall look after that.

Everyone raved about how delicious the cake was especially the bride. That got me to thinking.

What's more important to you: taste or appearance?

28 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 4 Jun 2008 , 12:55am
post #2 of 29

Taste, definitely.

My sister has been married 30 years and people still comment on the crappy tasting cake she had at her wedding. This same sister recently attended a wedding where the decor of the cake was less than perfect but it tasted great. This cake-civilian said to me, "I think people will forgive anything if the cake tastes good!"

Would you go back to a restaurant that had crappy food but pretty decor? Or are you more likely to go back to a restaurant that didn't look so great but the food was fabulous?

hellie0h Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hellie0h Posted 4 Jun 2008 , 1:35am
post #3 of 29

My vote goes for taste too. I've been baking all my life and would much rather do a dessert cake. My decorating skills are not very good, try as I may.