Rookie Fondant Questions

Decorating By tibadoe Updated 2 Jun 2008 , 12:39am by tibadoe

tibadoe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tibadoe Posted 1 Jun 2008 , 5:38pm
post #1 of 6

Greetings, all! I am a rookie decorator (for family only at this point) and have learned SO MUCH from this website. The only question that I have found un-answered so far is this: After rolling fondant (I ususally use MMF) and placing it on the cake, what is the best way to get all the excess powdered sugar to go away?? If I make it the night ahead, most is usually absorbed, but not all....and what do I do for "day of" cakes? Also, any tricks to get MMF to harden in under a week? THANKS!!

5 replies
kayleighlovesjacob Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kayleighlovesjacob Posted 1 Jun 2008 , 5:57pm
post #2 of 6

I'm new too, I first tried using water with a brush b/c the p.s. dissolves but then it becomes sticky so I put on decorators gloves and rub on a tiny tiny bit of canola oil, the p.s. goes right away and it gives it a nice shiny finish... plus helps with any cracks... don't know if this is the best way or even a great way but it works for me...

p.s. if I shouldn't do this for any reason someone tell me please!

tyty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tyty Posted 1 Jun 2008 , 6:13pm
post #3 of 6

I roll my MMF between 2 sheets of heavy duty vinyl (from Wal-Mart). I don't use any ps. You can use this method for other fondant too.

hwnhulahands Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hwnhulahands Posted 1 Jun 2008 , 6:13pm
post #4 of 6