Cake Business From Home

Baking By mirandamolly Updated 23 May 2008 , 1:19am by mirandamolly

mirandamolly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mirandamolly Posted 22 May 2008 , 1:21pm
post #1 of 8

I want to start cake business from home. I have no knowledge how to get started. I am very artistic and creative. I am sure I can do this but need help to get started.

Molly

7 replies
rreed6263 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rreed6263 Posted 22 May 2008 , 1:32pm
post #2 of 8

What state are you in? There are different laws for each state.
There was a thread about this a while back. I'll see if I can find
it.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 22 May 2008 , 1:33pm
post #3 of 8

Look in the Cake Decorating Business section to find out what the licensing requirements are in your state. That's usually the best start.

tippyad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tippyad Posted 22 May 2008 , 1:34pm
post #4 of 8

Call your local health department or agricultural state government. Many states don't legally allow for home based businesses.

FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 22 May 2008 , 1:35pm
post #5 of 8

Hello Molly! Welcome to Cake Central. icon_smile.gif

The first step in starting your business from home is to call your state department of food service and find out if it is legal to have a home kitchen. Some states allow cakes intended for sale to the public to be prepared in a residential kitchen.. some states do not. If you live in a state that doesn't allow it.. you will have to find a way to make your cakes in a commercial kitchen by either building one or renting one.

Check out this link.. it has a list of allof the states and the information on most of them regarding their view on home bakeries. icon_smile.gif

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-586218-states.html+licence+license

Once you find out what route you have to take.. the rest is easy. icon_smile.gif