Share Your Wholesale Contract Wording?

Business By Rhienn Updated 7 May 2008 , 6:02pm by Rhienn

Rhienn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rhienn Posted 4 May 2008 , 2:33am
post #1 of 7

Anyone here sell wholesale to cafes, etc?

I do cupcakes and am meeting with a cafe owner to discuss a standing order with her. I have ZERO experience with wholesale food transactions. Anyone have a contract they use that they'd be willing to share?

I'll gladly pay you....in cupcakes. icon_lol.gif

6 replies
CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 4 May 2008 , 5:24am
post #2 of 7

I haven't yet but would be interested in seeing one as well since I have no idea how to approach, offer or price such things - good question icon_smile.gif

Rhienn Posted 5 May 2008 , 5:11pm
post #3 of 7

Ok - am starting to panic a little. If you guys don't do this, who the heck am I going to get info from?! You guys know everything! icon_eek.gif

ChrisfromNOLA Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChrisfromNOLA Posted 6 May 2008 , 3:03am
post #4 of 7

Well I am no expert, I am just learning to do this sort of thing myself, but this is what i do. When I show up at the meeting, I have a folder with my wholesale pricelist with suggested retail prices and my business card. I also bring samples of a few things I offer. Just keep in mind that cafes and coffehouses usually want to at least double the price of your cupcake or cookie to make their profit. They may also ask the shelf life of an item. I have not dealt with a "standing order" yet, they usually just call me or email me to order what they need every week, depending on what sold. As far as a formal contract...I don't have one yet, I just have certain guidelines I let them know, like how I like to be paid, if I will credit unsold items...etc. Good luck! icon_smile.gif

Rhienn Posted 6 May 2008 , 3:33am
post #5 of 7