Wilton Classes

Decorating By coydame Updated 2 May 2008 , 11:44am by Tona

coydame Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
coydame Posted 1 May 2008 , 4:05pm
post #1 of 9

I am pretty new to cake decorating and I wanted to know if the Wilton Classes that are hold at local arts and crafts stores worth it? I really want to learn as much as I can and I have looked through the books for courses 1-3 and I am not sure this is the end product that I am looking for. I know you have to start somewhere I just wanted to know it any of you all found the classes to be a benefit or if it would be better to see if local bakeries held classes. THANKS![/center]

8 replies
ibmoser Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibmoser Posted 1 May 2008 , 4:28pm
post #2 of 9

I am a visual learner, so the classes were well worth it for me. They are very reasonably priced for the hours of instruction that you get, and they teach all of the basic skills if you take all 4 classes - covering in BC and fondant, basic piping skills, basic flower-making, etc.. The supplies are conveniently packaged and can be bought right in the store, usually with a coupon. So many tips and techniques are shown in class that can't be adequately covered in a printed book - how to hold and position tools, the easiest way to accomplish your goal, how to recover from mistakes (other than eat them icon_lol.gif ). I wanna be Colette Peters when I grow up, but good basic skills form the foundation. I say just do it thumbs_up.gif

Candes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Candes Posted 1 May 2008 , 7:29pm
post #3 of 9

I really enjoyed it. It's a great hands on class AND you can get instant feed back on your technique.

CakesbyBecca Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesbyBecca Posted 1 May 2008 , 9:14pm
post #4 of 9