Box Mix Or From Scratch????

Decorating By kcniese Updated 1 May 2008 , 4:16pm by chutzpah

kcniese Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 2:24pm
post #1 of 11

I always use box mix to make my cakes I have never made a cake from scratch. I just wanted anyone ones opinion on which they prefer. Also do scratch cakes taste good and are they easy??

10 replies
ccr03 Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 3:16pm
post #2 of 11

First, welcome!!! Hope you come to love this site as so many of us do!!

Aww, the ever-going debate icon_smile.gif

REally, I think it comes down to personal opinion. I'm a mix baker. Others on here are strictly scratch. Best thing to do is test out both and decide want you like best.

vteventrider Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 3:28pm
post #3 of 11

There are many heated threads on this debate, but here is my answer.

I bake from scratch because I prefer it and I find it easy. I do like box mixes, especially doctored ones, but I prefer to do scratch for me. Now I do not do this professionally so it is just whatever makes me happy. I think scratch tasted great, but they are much more dense and some say drier than box. There are ways around that based on the recipe and some tricks like a soaking syrup, but I find that even without soaking syrup my scratch cakes come out just fine.

HerBoudoir Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 3:56pm
post #4 of 11

Ditto vteventrider icon_smile.gif

Baking from scratch is sort of my "happy place" - when I'm stressed, what I want most is "baking therapy".

Mike1394 Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 6:05pm
post #5 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerBoudoir

Ditto vteventrider icon_smile.gif

Baking from scratch is sort of my "happy place" - when I'm stressed, what I want most is "baking therapy".

icon_biggrin.gif I love it.

Mike

vteventrider Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 7:23pm
post #6 of 11