Box Mix Or From Scratch????

Decorating By kcniese Updated 1 May 2008 , 4:16pm by chutzpah

kcniese Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kcniese Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 2:24pm
post #1 of 11

I always use box mix to make my cakes I have never made a cake from scratch. I just wanted anyone ones opinion on which they prefer. Also do scratch cakes taste good and are they easy??

10 replies
ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 3:16pm
post #2 of 11

First, welcome!!! Hope you come to love this site as so many of us do!!

Aww, the ever-going debate icon_smile.gif

REally, I think it comes down to personal opinion. I'm a mix baker. Others on here are strictly scratch. Best thing to do is test out both and decide want you like best.

vteventrider Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vteventrider Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 3:28pm
post #3 of 11

There are many heated threads on this debate, but here is my answer.

I bake from scratch because I prefer it and I find it easy. I do like box mixes, especially doctored ones, but I prefer to do scratch for me. Now I do not do this professionally so it is just whatever makes me happy. I think scratch tasted great, but they are much more dense and some say drier than box. There are ways around that based on the recipe and some tricks like a soaking syrup, but I find that even without soaking syrup my scratch cakes come out just fine.

HerBoudoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HerBoudoir Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 3:56pm
post #4 of 11

Ditto vteventrider icon_smile.gif

Baking from scratch is sort of my "happy place" - when I'm stressed, what I want most is "baking therapy".

Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 30 Apr 2008 , 6:05pm
post #5 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerBoudoir

Ditto vteventrider icon_smile.gif

Baking from scratch is sort of my "happy place" - when I'm stressed, what I want most is "baking therapy".

icon_biggrin.gif I love it.

Mike