What Do Charge For Cake Service??

Business By ccr03 Updated 18 Apr 2008 , 1:24pm by ccr03

ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 17 Apr 2008 , 7:17pm
post #1 of 9

So, I have a tasting this Saturday and the wedding planner told me that the bride plans to ask me about me staying to cut the cake. This will only be the 5-6 big event that I've done, so I'm still learning about all of this.

But so the wedding is about 30 miles from me, so I'll be charging her a delivery fee since it's out of my free delivery zone, but I have no idea what to quote her on the staying to cut service??????

Any and all help is appreciated!!!

THANK YOU!!!

8 replies
lu9129 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lu9129 Posted 17 Apr 2008 , 7:30pm
post #2 of 9

I would ask indydebi, I think she has the information that she does.

Lu

Laura102777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Laura102777 Posted 17 Apr 2008 , 7:37pm
post #3 of 9

I would recommend deciding a generous amount per hour that you think your time is worth, and charge for the full time from arriving to set up the cake to the time you will be finished with the cake cutting. Don't just charge them for the actual time you are cutting the cake, because you should get paid for all the time you sit around waiting for cake cutting time, too. That's time you can't be working on other things. If they decide your price is too steep, then they can ask someone else to cut the cake.

beccakelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beccakelly Posted 17 Apr 2008 , 7:42pm
post #4 of 9

its fairly common to charge at least $100 to stay and cut. think about what you want to get paid hourly for the hours you'll be sitting there waiting to cut, and then actually cutting. i personally don't stay and cut no matter what. i have 2-4 weddings on any given saturday, and i don't have time to sit around at one of htem cutting the cake.

ccr03 Posted 17 Apr 2008 , 7:58pm
post #5 of 9

thanks ladies!!