Decorating Question

Decorating By 1happymommy Updated 16 Apr 2008 , 11:25am by wgoat5

1happymommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
1happymommy Posted 16 Apr 2008 , 7:45am
post #1 of 8

Hi! I am making my first fondant covered cake for my daughter's birthday. I've never worked with fondant before, and was wondering if it was ok to go ahead an do the cake 2 days ahead. The filling on the cake needs to be refrigerated, and I didn't know if fondant could go in the fridge or not. Any advice would be most helpful icon_smile.gif Thanks! icon_smile.gif

7 replies
2sdae Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2sdae Posted 16 Apr 2008 , 8:41am
post #2 of 8

most fondant can be refrigerated. The chocopans and this type of white chocolate fondant however isnt too good to do this, When you take it out of fridge it will sweat and need to let come to room temp and dry.

Colliegirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Colliegirl Posted 16 Apr 2008 , 8:58am
post #3 of 8

Actually rolled fondant (I am not familiar with what American's call things so I hope this is the material you are talking about) cannot be refridgerated, it sweats. icon_cry.gif

This is unfortunately the problem with most of the cakes today, as many people don't like the traditional fruit cakes ,which could be made well in advance and intricately decorated. Thus many of the cakes today need to be refrigerated or made on the day or the previous day. Hence many of the decorations today are simple because of this.

I find making the cake the day before very stressfull but has to be done. But I make the flowers in advance and then put them onto the fondant covered cake that day.

You can at least say "Its fresh" icon_lol.gif

2sdae Posted 16 Apr 2008 , 9:09am
post #4 of 8

satin ice says it can refrigerated, so does pettinice too. I have put satin ice in fridge and it was fine for me.