Wilton's Castle Cake

Decorating By MissChrissy Updated 22 Apr 2008 , 10:05pm by chinadoll652003

MissChrissy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissChrissy Posted 15 Apr 2008 , 5:17pm
post #1 of 7

Has anyone tried to use the Wilton Romantic Castle Cake kit? Any advice? I am a newbie and I am trying it out this weekend for my neices birthday! Thanks!!

6 replies
auntsteff Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntsteff Posted 15 Apr 2008 , 6:27pm
post #2 of 7

I made this cake for my niece's birthday last September. She wanted it to look exactly like the one on the cover of the Wilton Yearbook. I had to buy the gumpaste kit, a small leaf tip (#349, I think), and the castle kit itself. I followed the directions in the yearbook and I had no problems at all. Look in my gallery, there are a couple of pictures of the cake.

I made the flowers a few weeks in advance to save myself some time, the gumpaste was extremely easy to use. I bought the gumpaste powder, not the ready made. Keep in mind that this cake is HUGE. We had tons of leftovers!

Melony Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melony Posted 16 Apr 2008 , 3:49am
post #3 of 7

I made this cake a few weeks ago and it was a lot fun. The turrets are a little bit of a challenge when it comes to keeping them sturdy. I had to use a lot of royal icing on them. The instructions called for using candy melts, but that did not work for me at all.

Just like Auntsteff, I made the fondant flowers a few weeks ahead of time. That was a big time saver! With that being said, this cake took me about 6 hours of decorating time. I'm a newbie, so I tend to be a little slow still. LOL I have a picture of the cake in my photos.

This cake is beautiful when it's done and is worth all the work that goes into it. Good luck!!

Melony

julzs71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julzs71 Posted 16 Apr 2008 , 4:30am
post #4 of 7